Training and Tracting

Hello everyone!

This past week has been a lot better than I thought it would be! I was super nervous about going to a new apartment, but I like this one way better! We are rooming with the Elders in the Laguna Niguel ward, and one of them was in my last district. His name is Elder Starr, hes pretty cool, and it’s nice to have a familiar face too!

My greenie’s name is Elder Hanks. He’s from Oklahoma, super tall and very talented at playing the piano. He’s a hard worker, likes to make bread, and has 15 siblings. (gasp)

As far as the work in our area, it’s way different from the work in Newport Beach. Lots of tracting, no investigators to speak of, even for the other Elders in our area, Elders Tree, Myers, and Fambrough. I’m excited to be working hard here! The ward is mostly elderly people, and we have more missionaries than priests in the ward, so I blessed the sacrament for the first time in like, 8 months. But the leadership in the ward really has it’s stuff together, and they are missionary minded members for sure.

Some miracles we saw this last week: Elder Hanks and I were out tracting, and at one house, someone let us in and we taught the Restoration! That’s the first time that’s ever happened to me while tracting! It was a miracle for sure, and we are hoping to keep in touch and share the rest of the Gospel with them. Another miracle we saw: we aren’t on full time bike. At transfer “meeting”, I handed in the keys to the old car I had been driving, and the vehicle coordinator handed me another set of keys! I asked him if he was sure we were getting a car (cuz that whole honesty thing? idk) and he said, “Yep! You guys have a car this transfer!” So, I don’t need to buy a bike. That’s a big blessing for sure, although Elder Hanks was excited to ride a bike. He will learn eventually.

Well, that’s about it for this week! I’m growing to enjoy training a bit more every day, lets hope I don’t screw this guy up, huh?
Love you, miss you,
– Elder Jon Peter Ahlstrom

 

Leave a Reply

