Ready to Serve – Leaving the MTC

Boy do I have news for you! President Monson’s grandson is in our junior district! So we got a paper saying what missionaries we would be getting in our zone after our senior district left, and one of the missionaries is Elder Monson, and he looks JUST like President Monson. So we think, “Oh, that’s just a coincidence, it couldn’t be for reals.” So then they get here, and once they were all in their classroom the MTC President and his wife come up to say hi to them, (which never happens, btw). So our whole zone is leaving to go to dinner, and my comp Elder Ross (who is hilarious and blunt) walks up to him and is all “Are you related to President Monson?” and he’s all “Yeah, that’s my grandpa.”

WHAT???
But yeah, that’s a thing. He’s super funny and easy to talk to, and he has a powerful testimony of the gospel. Which makes sense, since he gets letters from the Prophet that aren’t his mission call.

But news about me this week, I leave the MTC tomorrow! (AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH) I can’t believe I’m almost done at the MTC! It feels like three days ago I was getting dropped off, and now I’m going to teach people FOR REAL. I’ve learned so much in the short time here, and have been changed for the better, permanently. The Gospel is so simple, and here’s something to make it simpler for all of you.

The Church and the Gospel are two different things. The Church is things like Relief Society, Home Teaching, and the Young Men’s program. They are good, but they cannot save you in the end. The Gospel is faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and His Atonement, Repentance, Baptism, Receiving the Gift of the Holy Ghost, and Enduring to the End. Those things were taught by Christ, and are the things that will save you. If life get’s hard, and the people at Church are being little turds, focus on the Gospel, and the Lord will take care of the rest if you have faith.

I love this Gospel, and am so grateful for the Atonement in my life. I know that because of Christ I can change, and because of the gift He gave me I can live with my family forever. I know that Joseph Smith was called as a Prophet, and that he translated the Book of Mormon through the power of the Priesthood. I love being a missionary and cannot wait to go to California and change lives with this message.
– Elder Jon Peter Ahlstrom

Leave a Reply

