From the MTC!

Oh wow! This is probably the craziest thing I have ever done in my whole life, but I love it so much! I have grown a lot in the past week, and have so much to tell!
So, after my family dropped me off, which is a story on it’s own, I wasn’t very teary (shocking, I know). Once I was in the building it was all smiles and everyone was so nice. They took me to my room and I dropped like, everything there and went up to my classroom to meet my district, but I was the first one there. After maybe half an hour of small talk, (which I have gotten SOOOOOOO good at, btw), the rest of them came in. We have four Elders and six Sisters. I’ll send pictures soon, but I forgot my camera, so… oops. It’s me and my comp, Elder Ross (from Oregon, headed to Irvine too!), who is basically a redhead John Goodman, and our roommates Elder Newey (from Boston, headed to San Diego) and his comp Elder Thomson (from Texas, headed to San Deigo). The four of basically us formed a super-companionship, although we all teach different lessons, we go everywhere together.

Anyways, that evening we watched a re-broadcast of a WORLDWIDE MISSIONARY BROADCAST!!!! It was so cool, and it hasn’t happened for like, a decade or something. So, basically, we are the first ones to go through a new kind of training. It’s pretty great, but basically the brethren want us to focus on teaching lessons, not people, and to keep the lessons short, which is hard unless you REALLY know the material and are following the spirit.

So, I’m almost out of time for emailing, so I’ll share some insights I had after watching Character of Christ, which is an AMAZING talk by David A. Bednar that you ALL need to go read, seriously, it will change your lives. But, I realized that finding happiness in the gospel shouldn’t be our main goal, but it is a consequence that happens when we focus on others and how we can help them, and it is something that happens as we become more like Christ.

Anyways, I just wanted to leave you all with my testimony that I know this is Christ’s Church, established on the earth today, and that we are led by a modern day prophet, Thomas S. Monson. I know the Book of Mormon to be the word of God, and that by living by it’s teachings, anyone can come closer to Christ and our Heavenly Father, and find joy in this life. I love you all, and I love being a missionary,
– Elder Jon Peter Ahlstrom

Leave a Reply

